Old Bathroom, New Solutions!

July 27, 2011 § 2 Comments

So as I’ve said before in the tour of my apartment… my apartment building is pretty old and was built probably in the 1950s.  It definitely has its quirks as any old apartment would.  One of those quirks [in my opinion] is the bathroom.  While fully functional– there are definite ups and downs to this space.

Lets just take a look at some of the obstacles I am hoping to overcome in the next few weeks:

So here it is in all its glory.  The space is kind of hard to take pictures of because it is long but not very wide.  Literally the first thing I notice when I look at this picture is how high the toilet paper holder is.  You would think that would be an easy task to accomplish… moving the TP.  Not so easy when the thing has been there for who knows how long.  Unscrewing the TP holder would mean taking about half an inch of paint and molding with it.  Who knows what I’ll do– probably just settle for reaching for the TP.

Another thing I hate about this bathroom is the lack of cabinets underneath the counter… how attractive is that?!?!    You can also see how the bathroom has been slightly renovated previously.  I’m pretty sure that it used to be pedestal sink because of the towel bar you see on the left.  Why else would it be there?! It is awkwardly close to the counter and really bothers me!!

Oh yea… this is another thing I hate about the bathroom… this awkward shelf / mirror.  It’s terrible for two reasons: 1) when you look in the mirror your body is distorted because the 2 levels of mirrors and 2) when you sit on the toilet you have to look at yourself… awwwkwwaaard.

Another thing that shows how old this apartment is… the wrap around shower.  Good luck trying to find a shower curtain to fit this bad boy.  Still not sure how I’m going to fix this one.

Another unattractive thing about this apartment is the base-board heating.  Oh well.

So lets go over the things I hope to accomplish–

Checklist:

  1. Curtains for the window– need some color!
  2. Figure out how to cover the underneath of the counters– probably curtains!
  3. Paint the mirrored shelf.
  4. Add new hardware to the shelf
  5. Shelf for towels / accessories
  6. Paint ?
  7. Bathmats / towels / etc
  8. Solution to shower curtain extension

Budget:

Since I already have many of the items needed to re-do the bathroom… I would like to keep the budget under $75.  

I hope you enjoy reading about how I transform this bathroom (as much as I am able to).  Also if you have any ideas on ways  to accomplish some of my goals please let me know in the comment section– or email me at projectrejuvenate@gmail.com

Thanks!

Bethany

PS. Be sure to check out the rest of my bathroom makeover over at http://www.projectrejuvenate.net 

 

 

 

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Old Bathroom, New Solutions!

  • That’s a seriously challenging bathroom. Ideas:

    1) Color! It all feels pretty drab. Pick a few colors and coordinate them with bathmat/shower curtain/towels and some art…Paint the walls. Add a pretty/colorful cotton throw rug.
    2) Make your own shower curtain..You can find some amazing fabrics on-line for $2.50/yd and up; drygoodsdesigns is one I discovered today.
    3) Fix that baseboard heater (cover it) and move the TP holder…you can easily repair whatever hole it makes.
    4) Build a plywood cabinet beneath the sink to hold everything tidily then sew a curtain that hangs beneath the countertop: it will add color, coordinate the room; add some softness; hide the junk!

    Good luck doing all this on $75. I’d expect to pay $100 or so.

    • Project Rejuvenate says:

      Thanks for all the ideas!! They are wonderful!! I have started working on a few things… hopefully you’ll enjoy the way it comes out!!

What'ya thinkin?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old Bathroom, New Solutions! at Project Rejuvenate.

meta

