In Living [Room] Color

July 25, 2011 § 16 Comments

Hey y’all.

I wanted to share with you guys some of my inspiration for color in my living room!  I use a lot of color… basically every one you can think of.  I believe color can make or break a room.  In my living room I wanted to make sure it was not matchy matchy, I wanted it to be… lets call it “elegantly thrown together”.  Which is actually pretty easy to do since I’m a college student and I use what I’ve got and buy things that are on sale!  I have achieved the look I wanted with  new items, newly renovated items, and also a lot of things that I’ve had for years.  I think it is a lot of fun to bring it all together to create a unique and personal vibe.

Take a look at it below:

A lot of my inspiration came from the following three pieces: The first bit of color[inspi]ration is this trunk I bought around 3 years ago at HomeGoods [of course] and I still luuuuurve it so much.  It pretty much captures all the colors used in my living room to a tee!

Secondly, I really loved my table cloth that I got from Target about a year ago.  I loved the combination of colors and really wanted to try to capture that combo with the rest of my living area.

And finally, my last bit of inspiration came from this vintage paper I bought when I was in Florence, Italy.  Once again I loved color’s role in making this piece stand out.  When I saw it, I knew I had to have it… not even intending to frame it.

It wasn’t until I saw all three  pieces together that I knew I had something really going with my color scheme [if you can call basically all the colors a scheme].  I  house-shopped, combining a lot of knick knacks I already owned and picked up a few things at Marshalls or HomeGoods. Which amounted to basically everything on the walls, windowsills, and side tables.

Tying the rest of it together was pretty easy!  It simply required taking the old boring brown from the furniture and jazzing it up.  I tackled the couches first by adding some color with bright and fun pillows and making a new slipcover for an old ottoman.  You may remember those recent posts which you can find here and here.   Just those pillows alone brought a lot of pizzazz to my living room without being too overbearing.  

The next step was painting some hand-me-down furniture from my parents’ house.  Isn’t that old [ginormous] atlas fun in the coffee table?  Plus, it brings out the colors of the room too!And a little bit of blue and new hardware for this side table!
The final step was adding a rug which I found at Lowes for $25!  It is a lighter shade of the blue that I used to paint the table above!
And here is the finished product:
And all together again:
I’m certain that I will continue adding pieces here and there… maybe a few more pillows, etc etc. BUT I am so pleased with how everything has come together.  It really speaks to my personality and the things I really enjoy in life!
Let me know what y’all think! And tell me what you use as color[inspi]ration for your home!!
I hope your Monday was colorful 🙂

Bethany

PS. Check out http://www.projectrejuvenate.net to keep following my adventures in design 🙂 

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 16 Responses to In Living [Room] Color

What'ya thinkin?

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Living [Room] Color at Project Rejuvenate.

meta

