le tourre

July 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

I figured that I should probably let you guys in on where I live.  I am still a college student with a limited income… so I basically do what I can.  There are things that I already love about my new home.  Yet there are some things that I am still very unsatisfied with.  I view decorating as a process.  With my bank account it has to be.  Since I moved in May, I’ve taken a portion out of each check to dedicate to home improvements.  That portion may not cover everything I might need in order to get things done, but I’m okay with that.  Oh the things I could do with unlimited resources.
Lets consider these pictures not BEFORE or AFTER… maybe IN PROCESS for now. While there are some things in these pictures that will stay the same… I want you to know that I have a vision for this apartment.  Basically more stuff on the walls.. more knick knacks… better organization… RUGS… etc etc.  I’m excited that I can share the process on here and I hope you will enjoy watching the transformation.

So this is my building… I live up there at the top.  I’m lucky for a couple of reasons… A) I loooove this apartment complex.  It’s quiet.  It has character.  It is reasonably priced.  The grass is always cut… never any trash… etc etc.  B) I got a corner apartment meaning… every side of my apartment has windows… it’s absolutely lovely.  C) I am really close to everything… downtown… campus… and only a 30 minute drive to my parents’ house.

A lot of people here plant their own gardens… something I’m hoping I might be able to do a little bit of next Spring.

Here is the Great Hall.  These apartments were built in the 1950s which is very obvious by the style of the interior.  Every doorway has an actual door– some of them won’t even close [because the fridge is in the way].  The bareness of my entry way literally drives me insane, but I do like how you don’t walk straight into the living area, its nice to have it broken up a bit!  [very different from the student-style apartments I have been living in the past 3 years]

This is basically what my apartment looks like on a daily basis…  I took this after just walking in the door which means no styling no set up, this is just it.  There are a lot of things in my living room that I love… so many things I have had for a long time.  Like the trunk I am using as a side table.  You’re also looking at a lot of hand-me-downs like the other side table and coffee table.  I’ve tried to make them my own– but I’ll save that for a later post.  Another thing I love about this apartment– the hard wood floors! Gives it so much more pizzazz than nasty carpet that has been used by who knows who!  Oh yea, you may notice that really aesthetic A/C window unit there… one little thing… this apartment doesn’t have A/C!  But my window units work great– they just aren’t the most attractive things in the world!  There’s a lot more I would like to add to this space… just have to be patient!

A quick look into my kitchen— which is tiny!  The kitchen might be my least favorite spot in my apartment.  There is a lot of work that needs to be done in order to make this room “cute” or presentable.   You may be wondering how that magnet is working on those cabinets– well they’re made of metal.  One negative thing about renting a space is that there is little restoration that can be done.  If I could knock out all the cabinets in this kitchen I would in a heartbeat.  Plus add new fixtures… etc.  But that isn’t easy to do when you don’t own it, nor do I know how long I will be staying here.   I’ve already got some ideas– thanks to Pinterest— on how to make it look a lot better without knocking down anything!

Here is my craft area and where I am sitting currently.  Really big organizational plans for this little nook– very excited!  This is actually just an extension of the living room– its a pretty large space!

And here is my bedroom.  Its huge and wonderful with two closets and plenty of space.  Besides the kitchen I am least happy with this room.  I feel like it is very unfinished.  I don’t know if I feel that way because I’ve had some of the decorations for close to 4 years now or what.  Time will only tell where this room will go in the next few months.

Well that’s it folks.  I hope you enjoyed your little tour of my 1-bedroom.  And like I said this is just the beginning, so keep coming back to see how this place changes over time!

Bethany

P.S. Wanna share your apartment or home?  Send me pictures and I’ll post them!

§ 2 Responses to le tourre

What'ya thinkin?

What’s this?

You are currently reading le tourre at Project Rejuvenate.

meta

